Ceramic Competencies

Ceramany masters all ceramic manufacturing processes, starting with powder processing through high-pressure and low-pressure injection molding, as well as dry pressing and isostatic pressing.

The subsequent green machining is done on CNC lathes and milling machines.

After the sintering process, mechanical processing is only possible by grinding with diamond tools. We can fall back on the following processes:

  • Flat grinding
  • External cylindrical grinding
  • Internal cylindrical grinding
  • Centreless grinding
  • Honing (flat honing, superfinishing, internal honing)
  • Drilling
  • Lapping
  • Polishing

Precision grinding permits compliance with narrow tolerances from DIN ISO 2768-mK or better.

Our materials:

Aluminium oxide

Ceramany uses aluminium oxide in many applications. This material is highly versatile and inexpensive in comparison with other high-performance ceramics. Due to the proportion of rare earths, it is often even more cost-efficient than carbide.

Characterised by outstanding abrasion resistance, aluminium oxide is nearly as hard as diamond. Other outstanding properties include chemical resistance, e.g. against acids and alkalis, and extraordinary temperature resistance.

Aluminium oxide offers a high thermal conductivity.

A high purity of 99.7% significantly increases strength and corrosion resistance even further. Aluminium oxide is very often used for electrical insulation for its high dielectric strength.

Zirconium oxide

Zirconium oxide (zirconium dioxide) is characterised by outstanding flexural and impact strength. Since zirconium oxide is relatively “soft” when compared to other high-performance ceramics, it is particularly useful in particular for components in mechanical engineering. At the same time, it is suited well as a counterpart for steel or carbide, e.g. in the form of a steady rest.

Zirconium oxide is biocompatible, and therefore suitable for the food sector as well as for medical technology.

Due to its low thermal conductivity, zirconium oxide is also used as a thermal insulator. Since the modulus of elasticity and thermal expansion are similar to those of steel, the material is suitable for installation in assemblies subject to temperature changes.

Silicon nitride

This all-rounder among the high-performance ceramics offers an entire range of advantages for the most diverse applications. This low-density material is very low in weight, making it particularly interesting for devices that perform rotating or pivoting movements.

Silicon nitride is very hard and has a high chemical resistance, similar to aluminium oxide, but is closer to zirconium oxide in terms of impact strength. It can, therefore, be found throughout the field of mechanical and plant engineering in applications where many issues occur at the same time.

However, its greatest advantage is in its high temperature and thermal-shock resistance, which places this material, e.g., in induction plants. Beyond this, silicon nitride preserves its full strength in a temperature range up to nearly 1000 °C. It shows barely any expansion at all.

Kompetenzen Keramik

Ceramany beherrscht sämtliche keramische Fertigungsverfahren, beginnend bei der Pulververarbeitung durch Hochdruck- und Niederdruckspritzgussverfahren, sowie Trockenpressen und isostatisches Pressen.

Die anschließende Grünbearbeitung erfolgt auf CNC Dreh- und Fräsmaschinen.

Nach dem Sinterprozess ist eine mechanische Bearbeitung nur noch durch Schleifen mit Diamantwerkzeugen möglich. Auf folgende Prozesse können wir dabei zurück greifen:

  • Flachschleifen
  • Außenrundschleifen
  • Innenrundschleifen
  • Spitzenlosschleifen
  • Honen (Flachhonen, Superfinish, Innenhonen)
  • Bohren
  • Läppen
  • Polieren

Die präzise Schleifbearbeitung erlaubt die Einhaltung enger Toleranzen nach DIN ISO 2768-mK oder besser.

Werkstoffe                     

Aluminiumoxid

Ceramany verwendet in vielen Anwendungen Aluminiumoxid, denn dieser Werkstoff ist sehr vielseitig und im Vergleich zu anderen Hochleistungskeramiken vergleichsweise günstig, vielfach auch schon günstiger als Hartmetall, was durch den Anteil seltener Erden verursacht wird.

Aluminiumoxid zeichnet sich durch eine sehr gute Abrasionsbeständigkeit aus und ist annähernd so hart wie Diamant. Weitere herausragende Eigenschaften sind chemische Resistenz z.B. gegenüber Säuren und Laugen, eine sehr hohe Temperaturbeständigkeit.

Aluminiumoxid verfügt über eine hohe Wärmeleitfähigkeit.

Durch die hohe Reinheit von 99,7 % konnte auch die Festigkeit und Korrosionsbeständigkeit noch einmal deutlich verbessert werden. Durch die hohe Durchschlagfestigkeit wird Aluminiumoxid sehr häufig zur elektrischen Isolation eingesetzt.

Zirkonoxid

Zirkonoxid (Zirkondioxid) zeichnet sich durch eine sehr hohe Biegefestigkeit- und Schlagzähigkeit aus. Daraus resultiert, dass Zirkonoxid im Vergleich zu anderen Hochleistungskeramiken relativ „weich“ ist. Dadurch ist der Werkstoff gerade für Bauteile im Maschinenbau sehr interessant und eignet sich gut als Gegenpart für Stahl- oder Hartmetall, z.B. als Lünette.

Zirkonoxid ist Biokompatibel und ist somit geeignet für den Lebensmittelbereich aber auch für die Medizintechnik.

Durch die geringe Wärmeleitfähigkeit findet Zirkonoxid auch als thermischer Isolator Anwendung. Durch das in etwa gleiche E-Modul und die gleiche Wärmedehnung wie Stahl ist ein Verbau in Baugruppen unter Temperaturbelastung sinnvoll.

Siliziumnitrid

Der Allrounder unter den Hochleistungskeramiken bietet eine ganze Bandbreite an Vorteilen für die verschiedensten Anwendungsbereiche. Durch die geringe Dichte ist dieser Werkstoff sehr leicht, was gerade in Anlagen mit rotierenden oder schwenkenden Bewegungen interessant ist.

Siliziumnitrid ist ähnlich dem Aluminiumoxid sehr hart und chemisch sehr gut resistent. In Sachen Schlagzähigkeit nähert  sich Siliziumnitrid dem Zirkonoxid und ist deshalb im kompletten Maschinen- und Anlagenbau zu finden, wenn viele Probleme auf einmal auftreten.

Den größten Vorteil stellt jedoch die hohe Temperatur und Temperaturwechselbeständigkeit dar. Deshalb ist dieses Material z.B. in Induktionsanlagen zu finden. Darüber hinaus behält Siliziumnitrid auch bis fast 1000°C seine komplette Festigkeit und dehnt sich kaum aus.